During the summer before my sophomore year in high school I discovered photography. My dad perceived my interest and built an awesome darkroom for me in our garage. It had everything I needed to process film, make prints, including an enlarger, cabinets, a sink and running water, a light box, etc. He even installed a complete sound system and a phone in this darkroom. Actually, building this incredible darkroom was brilliant on his part, as he created an environment where he knew where I’d be, as I spent countless nights in there!  As it turned out, my dad building this darkroom was very influential to me – prompting my life-long interest and career in photographic art. I shot this photograph of my dad in our back yard when I was a sophomore in high school. This was the first image that I ever printed in the darkroom. –Steven Churchill